Gluten Free Foods
In order to avoid the symptoms of gluten intolerance, many people choose to follow a gluten-free diet, which means they avoid eating products which contain rye, barley or wheat. When you have an intolerance to wheat or gluten, it can be difficult to know exactly what you can and can't eat, but there are a few guidelines to follow.
Wheat is widely used in many processed and ready-made foods, which means it is advisable to stick to natural, unprocessed foods as much as possible. When avoiding gluten, it is crucial to make sure you are eating a wide range of different foods and that your body is getting the nutrition it needs. You can achieve this by eating a variety of different fruits and vegetables, which will give you the fibre and B-vitamins you would otherwise get from gluten-containing products. It is also important to ensure you are getting enough iron in your diet; you can achieve this by eating naturally iron-rich foods such as dark green leafy vegetables, beef and poultry.
There are many gluten free grains which you can use as a substitute for wheat, including buckwheat, millet, quinoa and brown rice. There are also various products which are specifically made for people following a gluten-free diet, such as flour, bread and crackers. Only products which contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten may be labelled as gluten-free. Be sure to check labels carefully when food shopping.
Our goal is to make life simpler for people who suffer these intolerances, and as part of this we can offer helpful advice and guidance to help you identify which foods are right for you. If you wish to undergo food intolerance testing to find out whether you need to cut gluten from your diet, or if you require advice, please get in touch.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you would like any help with this condition and you would like to get that Vibrant feeling.